Hello after a short break! I am now working in Washington, D.C. as a communications intern for a health nonprofit organization until at least December. I’ve finally started writing again.

John Green is easily one of my favorite authors and has become increasingly popular with the novel-turned-film The Fault in Our Stars. However, there are three books he wrote prior to his breakthrough, one of which I reviewed a few months ago. Today I’m going to review another one.

Paper Towns, published in 2008, is about high schooler Quentin “Q” Jacobsen who goes searching for his childhood friend and crush, Margo Roth Spiegelman, after she runs away from home. Following clues she left for him, he pieces together the puzzle with the help of his best friends and Margo’s friends.

People have likened the book to Looking for Alaska, with both involving a complex female character and a male protagonist who’s from Orlando, Florida. However, I see several differences between the two, as Looking contains more autobiographical elements of Green’s time at boarding school. Plus, Paper’s plot seems geared toward addressing societal issues instead of focusing on personal growth and experiences.

While this one isn’t my favorite of John Green novels, it’s definitely worth a read to anyone who likes a good mystery. What does the phrase “paper towns” mean? Read the book to find out.

