Today is another snow day for the city of D.C. As I write this, I’m looking out the window at the snow-covered cars and snowbanks that fill the street. Since it’s winter, I decided to review a novel that takes place during the summer, Things I Can’t Forget. 

This novel is by Miranda Kenneally, an author who’s written other books that focus around relationships and sometimes sports. This story is about Kate, a recent high school graduate who gets a job working at a summer camp. Although excited about working at the camp, Kate is dealing with a guilty conscience after helping her friend through an experience that went against Kate’s beliefs. The help of her new friends at the camp and reconnecting with an old camp friend helps Kate learn how to deal with past situations and look forward to new ones.

To be honest, I didn’t find this book to be good as Kenneally’s other novels. The plot of reconnecting with old friends at camp has been done before, and it felt more like a Sarah Dessen novel.

However, I did find the character of Kate to be interesting. Although eighteen, Kate hasn’t had the same experiences as most people her age, such as going to parties or being in relationships. She reminded me a little of myself, as I found that I had more experiences in college than in high school. I also remember the summer between high school graduation and the start of college to be a confusing one; it being a transition from something familiar to something entirely new.

Overall, Things I Can’t Forget is worth a read if you’re interested in complex characters than a real plot.

 

