The sequel to Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, this novel continues the story of Lara Jean Song Covey, an Asian-American girl whose letters to five guys she had loved before were sent.

Having formed a relationship with Peter Kavinsky, one of the guys she had written a letter to in the past, the two of them are getting to know each other. Their bond is soon tested when a video of them together is viraled out to the whole school and begins rumors about what has been going on. When another boy from Lara Jean’s past comes back into her life, she finds herself conflicted about who she really loves. She seeks advice from family and the senior citizens at the retirement home where she works.

I enjoyed reading the parts about Lara Jean spending time in the retirement home and listening to senior citizen’s stories about their experiences. It reminded me of the stories my grandparents used to tell me about being young adults and how life was like back then. And of course, who doesn’t have grandparents who likes to give relationship advice?

I did find this novel to be a little more predictable then its predecessor. In this case, the cliche of “who is the girl going to choose?” was present. However, I like how Han includes messages about how the people in your life can affect your perception of the world and how memories stay with us.

About a week ago, I discovered that Han plans to release another novel next, the third and most likely final one, entitled Always and Forever, Lara Jean. I am looking forward to seeing what happens to Lara Jean.

On a side note, another thing I have discovered is that the characters of Lara Jean and Peter both have Instagram accounts. Played by actors, of course, but I think it’s an interesting way to bring the characters to life.

 

 

